Afterglow

In the afterglow

Of all things dead and dying

I feel the hunger of a lighted pyre

Devouring all that was

Till there’s no more.

I’m the scream that tore the skies

At the altar of the terrible one.

I’m the ash flying in your face.

I’m the terrible one

Scouring the bowels of the earth

Birthing a thousand living things

Squelching flesh and blood.

Primeval. Remorseless.

I’m in you and you and you.

Flecks of recognition.

Start of a wildfire.

Do not fear me.

I will dwell in all things passing,

Raging, burning, flying

Till there’s nothing

But silence.

 

About

Hi, I'm Sampurna and I'm from India. I love to write, paint, and play with my dogs. Catch up with me at Halfastory's Blog. Happy reading!

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Flotsam

Have something to say?

Filed Under
Top Rated
Blog Stats
  • 14,429 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 141 other followers

Proud Indian
Please Note

Creative Commons License
Halfastory's Blog by Sampurna is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

