Unnameable

Thoughts, like clouds in my head,

Turn rose and cotton candy white,

Red, black and blue like scars.

And you, there, insidious enemy,

You, so artless, like a caricature,

You, so mainstream, like evaporation,

You.

Who would’ve thought that you’d find

Yourself a subject of imagination,

Lightening flash of a heartache,

Sinful.

Bright as a child’s laughter.

You.

Astride word-clouds tinted rose and red!

You.

Secret soiree of my tired soul.

Do not laugh.

I want to see the twinkle in your almond eyes.

And try and believe that’s all there is to you.

Do not laugh, I say!

And I try to be funny one last time to hear

Your sinful, child-like laughter.

You.

Your laughter almost masks your anxieties,

Mundane, pitiful, unbecoming.

You.

But you hide them even as you show some,

Like clouds lolling on mountain tops,

Shadows mimicking them below,

Like an inconsequential game.

You.

So forgetful. So light. So random.

It’s almost cruel to be so.

You.

Do not forget me.

I wish I could say to you, even though

I wish I could forget you by the next showers.

Time becomes you,

In this terrifying spin with which I weave

The skies and clouds and seasons with

You.

Insidious enemy.

Unnameable.

You.

About

Hi, I'm Sampurna and I'm from India. I love to write, paint, and play with my dogs. Catch up with me at Halfastory's Blog. Happy reading!

Tagged with:
Posted in Flotsam
7 comments on “Unnameable
  1. elena xtina says:

    beautifully written!

  2. pflead73 says:

    This is good.
    P.S. Glad to see you still blogging. I had lost your link once again.

  3. Parna says:

    You must and should write more and more poems.

Have something to say?

Filed Under
Top Rated
Blog Stats
  • 14,692 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Proud Indian
Please Note

Creative Commons License
Halfastory's Blog by Sampurna is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

