Gnawing Time

Someone died while coming to work today. We work in the same place, although I don’t know him. And even as I write it, time hangs still in the air. I’m unable to push this memory of a person I never knew to the past tense.

With every minute I feel time gnawing at my toes. I start and bend over. People watch me with twinkling eyes. Somewhere the tut-tut of regretful co-workers. And the pressing deadline drawing near.

My pages are quite blue today. I stare at blue phlegm as I write. But it wasn’t like this in the morning. I was my usual sleepy self, dragging my feet around the fountain, filling water in my bottle, drinking some, re-filling, and praying for the day to end. For tomorrow is Saturday, and I shall have a long, long night with myself – I thought – doing something I like.

But the still air stings me now. For I feel I’m living on borrowed time and someone I may not know might be paying for it.

About

Hi, I'm Sampurna and I'm from India. I love to write, paint, and play with my dogs. Catch up with me at Halfastory's Blog. Happy reading!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Flotsam
One comment on “Gnawing Time
  1. packosix says:

    yes. today just made me hate a few people a little less. today made me realise that tomorrow may never come. today i spelt out grateful in big bold letters in my mind. today i tried forgiving myself…

Have something to say?

Filed Under
Top Rated
Blog Stats
  • 14,712 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 142 other followers

Proud Indian
Please Note

Creative Commons License
Halfastory's Blog by Sampurna is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

